Louisianime 2013

So, I’m overdue for a post. I figured that while I was excited still over the anime convention I just attended I can post about it! Use this energy for something productive, right? Right?

So, an overview: What the heck is an anime convention? It’s basically an event like any other convention, though this one is centered around Japanese animation – and video games, and comic books, and whatever else feels like wiggling in there. Steampunk is taking over Louisianime (so sad), so even if you just like western video games you can still go to one! While there, one attends panels about various aspects of the anime world – panels about various shows, panels about genres, panels about tea, etc. Industry Guests such as directors and voice actors also show up and host panels, and they also sit still long enough to sign stuff for the fans of their stuff.

My favorite part about Louisianime this year, though, was the Dealers’ Room. It’s a giant room filled with anime goodness. Normally I go through the Dealers’ Room wistfully because I can’t afford what I really want, but this year I had a grand ol’ tax return. I bought a bunch of stuff that I wouldn’t have normally been able to from the Dealers’ Room – plushies, figures, anime series, and my favorite: wall scrolls. I bought a Gravitation wall scroll and a Black Butler wall scroll that I’m going to have to find places for on my wall. So happy!

The last bit about the anime conventions, and this one in particular, was Artist’s Alley. Most cons will have an Artist’s Alley, and it’s basically a space in the convention where freelancers of all sorts – artists, sculptors, sewers – will set up tables. Art of all sorts will greet one as one walks through the convention floor. I bought a print from one person of two characters from No. 6 (an anime I have yet to watch but whose characters are gorgeous), while from another I bought two adorable plushies and almost bought two more but resisted the temptation. There was also a guy doing commissions! For $25 I now own a custom piece, this one of my current book’s character, June. The picture has him smiling and happy, which makes me happy because his story isn’t really a cheerful one. It’s nice to have him at least look happy right?

Ah, I forgot about the most fun part of conventions: cosplaying! The word comes from the Japanese contraction of the two words “costume play” and it basically is what it sounds like. People make the outfits of the characters they like and wear them around the convention. I saw several Kiritos and at least four Jack Frosts wandering around, as well as a kickass dragon that scared several people. My cosplay this weekend was the Pokemon Mew. I did a gijinka version of it so I just had the tail and the ears and a cutsey pink outfit.

So yes. In a single sentence, it could be said that I had fun this past weekend. While wandering around, though, I couldn’t help the fleeting thought that I wouldn’t mind seeing my characters brought to life. One day I want to be pleasantly surprised by seeing June gracing art, immortalized as a plushie, or given a physical form through cosplay.

I’m confident that I’ll have June’s book finished by Mechacon. I doubt it’ll happen that quickly, but perhaps I’ll be surprised. With that, a lot of my manic energy has faded. It’s time to buckle down and get to work.

See you all next week!

Leave a Reply

