Captain America: The Winter Soldier

I’ve decided to take a break from video game reviews. Let’s do movie reviews, instead! As you may have guessed, this review is devoted to the latest Marvel movie. Without further ado, let’s jump right into the meat of this review.

When this movie opened, I expected something that would blow me away. It started off strong with its opening, but quite early on I could see its flaws. The scenes outside of the new helicarriers screamed, “I’M FORESHADOWING!” and it was really jarring. I didn’t like feeling slapped in the face with something that would be better served as a surprise.

The part of the movie that really turned me off, though, was the overly long car chase starring Nick Fury’s car and a bunch of implausible stunts. It could have been half the length it was and still got the point across. From there, I just hung around to see how the plot points I predicted turned out. I guessed just about all of them. Predictability is not good for a movie whose intent was to invoke suspense.

The only thing I didn’t predict was the Falcon. I fell in love with those wings of his at first sight. It’s true that they aren’t likely scientifically possibly, but neither is Asgard. Disbelief, suspended. Jaw, dropped. Envy, thy name is Thea. His sequences were the best in the movie.

There will be light spoilers ahead, so be warned. I’m going to talk about the Winter Soldier now.

For having the movies subtitled named after him, Bucky seemed more of an afterthought than the main article. His character could have been replaced with any other’s with no effect on the plot. Rather than focus on the hidden Hydra agents in the movie, it should have focused on the dynamic between Bucky and Steve. This is the same studio that handled Thor and Loki, so it could have been done.

Instead, we get bare seconds of Steve and Bucky interaction before they’re ripped apart again. Then, Bucky forgets about it, and they have a battle that anyone can see the resolution to a million miles away. Only of slight surprise was the fact that Bucky survived to another movie. Given the events of the movie, however, I might suggest another subtitle: Hydra Lives. Perhaps Zola Strikes Back. The movie certainly wasn’t about the Winter Soldier.

Overall, I wasn’t impressed with this movie. The acting was superb, and the little bit of Bucky we got was wonderful. However, it’s best viewed when it arrives on Netflix.

3 thoughts on “Captain America: The Winter Soldier

  1. Felicia says:

    Really? I actually really enjoyed Captain America! šŸ˜€ Anyways, is there a way to privately contact you about guest blogging a movie review as I see that you are looking to post more movie reviews?

  2. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such
    detailed about my difficulty. You’re wonderful!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

